Skip to content
Crowd Farming Italy Harvest 2021

Harvest 2021 – a good year is often followed by a less good one

Sponsorship Olive Tree Harvest 2021

Sponsorship olive tree: not every olive year can be good.

Sponsorship olive tree: the harvest last year 2020 spoiled us very much. Dense inflorescences in May and a lush harvest in October. No storms, no droughts, everything went great. Unfortunately, that doesn’t look so good this year. Admittedly, we cannot complain about storms or adverse circumstances. Also, the weather was actually okay. But still, we count fewer olives on the trees. Often there is no real explanation for this. This is nature in its original form and therefore not unusual.

And that’s what makes up our lives as organic farmers. Every year, not knowing how the year will go. Added to this are the changes brought about by climate change, which has not yet been dramatically visible in our area, but which nevertheless has an impact on such a sensitive ecological system as an organic olive farm.
For our community of adoptive parents our organic olive trees, this does not mean anything concrete at this time. But we would like to gently get you in the mood for the fact that we may not be able to send as many bottles per tree as usual and as last year.

Fortunately, last year we made “Olive in Salamoia” from many olives. Should we actually have a worse harvest in 2021, we would enclose a glass of “Olive in Salamoia” with every adoptive parent as a consolation patch. So the sponsorship olive tree may not be a big disappointment.

After a week of harvesting the organic olives, we can already estimate a little better what the yield will be this year. Last year we produced about 2,000 liters of organic olive oil with the whole farm. This year it will be a maximum of half. Some trees have so few olives that it is not worth harvesting, as we harvest by hand and need about 1 hour per tree. If there are only a handful of olives in the nets, the effort is simply not worth it.

Skip to content
Crowd Farming Italien Ernte 2021

Ernte 2021 – auf ein gutes Jahr folgt oft ein weniger gutes

Patenschaft Olivenbaum Ernte 2021

Patenschaft Olivenbaum: nicht jedes Oliven-Jahr kann gut sein.

Patenschaft Olivenbaum: die Ernte im letzten Jahr 2020 hat uns sehr verwöhnt. Dichte Blütenstände im Mai und eine üppige Ernte im Oktober. Keine Stürme, keine Dürreperioden, alles lief großartig. Das sieht leider dieses Jahr nicht so gut aus. Zwar können wir uns nicht über Unwetter oder widrige Umstände beklagen. Auch war das Wetter eigentlich okay. Aber trotzdem zählen wir weniger Oliven an den Bäumen. Oft gibt es keine richtige Erklärung dafür. Das ist die Natur in Ihrer originären Form und somit nicht ungewöhnlich.

Und das ist es, was unser Leben als Bio-Farmer ausmacht. Jedes Jahr aufs Neue nicht zu wissen, wie das Jahr verlaufen wird. Hinzu kommen die Veränderungen durch den Klimawandel, der bisher in unserer Gegend an sich nicht dramatisch sichtbar wurde, sich aber in einem solch sensiblen ökologischen System wie einer Bio-Olivenfarm dennoch auswirkt.
Für unsere Community der Adoptiv-Eltern unsere Bio-Oliven-Bäume bedeutet dies zum heutigen Zeitpunkt noch nichts Konkretes. Aber wir möchten Euch sachte darauf einstimmen, dass wir eventuell nicht so viele Flaschen pro Baum verschicken können, wie üblich und wie letztes Jahr.

Glücklicher Weise haben wir letztes Jahr aus vielen Oliven “Olive in Salamoia” gefertigt. Sollten wir in 2021 tatsächlich eine schlechtere Ernte haben, würden wir als Trost-Pflaster jeden Adoptiv-Eltern eine Glas “Olive in Salamoia” beilegen. So wird die Patenschaft Olivenbaum vielleicht keine große Enttäuschung.

Nach einer Woche Ernte der Bio-Oliven können wir schon etwas besser abschätzen, wie der Ertrag dieses Jahr sein wird. Letztes Jahr haben wir mit der gsamten Farm ca. 2.000 Liter Bio-Olivenöl erzeugt. Dieses Jahr wird es maximal die Hälfte werden. Manche Bäume haben so wenig Oliven, dass es sich gar nicht lohnt zu ernten, da wir mit der Hand ernten und pro Baum ca. 1 Std. brauchen. Wenn dann nur eine Handvoll Oliven in den Netzen liegt, lohnt sich der Aufwand einfach nicht.